How to clear InDesign preferences

One of the first things to try when troubleshooting an issue with extensions InDesign is often to clear InDesign preferences.

To do this, hold down ctrl+alt+shift (Windows) or cmd+ctrl+alt+shift (MacOS) immediately after launching InDesign. If you do it soon enough after launching, you will see a dialog confirming your intent. Click Yes and the preference file will be cleared.